Conversion of my Blair Cargo trailer

Converting Cargo Trailers into TTTs

Conversion of my Blair Cargo trailer

Postby Kankujoe » Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:42 am

I've been hanging around here off & on for a few months now trying to decide on a traditional teardrop or cargo trailer conversion for my freqent bicycle and kayak treks. I think I've decided that I will start with a trailer conversion as I already own a cargo trailer that I have many years & many miles experience pulling all over the country.

My trailer is a 1992 Blair Cargo Trailer. I used it pretty hard from 1992 to 2000. Sporadically since. It has some wear and tear but has been reliable and a good trailer. I've probably put 30K or more miles on it since 1992. It's been coast-to-coast 5-6 times and just about everywhere in between hauling Boy Scout gear/equipment and moving my kids around. I have also spent many a night sleeping in it when a severe rain storm wash out my tent!

It is 5'Wx10'Lx5'8"H. Basically it is now a box with a 45"Wx60"H rear door. Walls are 5/8 or 3/4 inch fiberglass laminate over plywood. Chassis is a heavy duty horse trailer frame with a single axle. Weight is approx 900 pound with 2500 pound payload capacity. Wheels are 225/75R15. Roof is single piece translucent molded fiberglass with 1x1 steel tube support framing.