20 x 8 Car Trailer Conversion by GaryDee

Converting Cargo Trailers into TTTs

20 x 8 Car Trailer Conversion by GaryDee

Postby GaryDee » Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:30 pm

Hello everyone! I wish we would have found this site before I started my conversion. It would have been a great help. We wanted a "toy hauler" style of camper to bring our golf cart with us. Not being able to afford a new one, this project started.

This started it's life as a 2000 - 20' Pace car trailer that I bought used and retired from my business. Lucky, this trailer has a flip open door that will work perfectly for a nice, big bay window.

I have had many campers in the last 20 years; class "A's, C's, and 5th wheels. All of our camping is done in state parks or camp grounds that have available AC power and dump stations near by. Because of this, I built this trailer around the way we use it.

I'm no professional with wood,cabinets or electricity, but your typical "shade tree" weekend tinker. Here are some pictures of the start of the project;

I will say I tried posting this build on another site with little interest. This site may be more appropriate.
GaryDee
Teardrop Inspector

Postby bdosborn » Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:28 pm

Looks like you've got a good trailer to work with. Good luck and post lots of pictures of your build! :thumbsup:

Bruce
2009 6.5'X11' TTT - Boxcar
All it takes is a speck of faith and a few kilowatts of sweat and grace.
Boxcar Build
aVANger Build
bdosborn
Donating Member

Postby Curtis in Texas » Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:30 am

I reading 20" and thinking WOW! That's a big trailer!
Then reality hit me and I realize it's only 3 feet longer than mine...... :oops:

Looking forward to the build.
Document it all with pictures.
The side drop down doors would make for a nice drop down bed for the youngun I see in the Golf Cart.
Curtis in Texas
Teardrop Advisor

Hello

Postby ho-do » Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:39 pm