electric or hand pump sink ideas

Converting Cargo Trailers into TTTs

electric or hand pump sink ideas

Postby weeeee » Wed Jun 01, 2011 3:10 pm

I was thinking about how I could add a simple sink to my Cargo trailer. Something like a small bathroom cabinet with a stainless sink and some sort of RV hand pump or electric pump.

I would like to have the fresh and grey water stored in the cabinet.

Has anyone done anything like this or have some pointers? I am totally new to the RV world so I really don't know much of what is out there and available.
weeeee
Teardrop Inspector

Postby vtx1029 » Wed Jun 01, 2011 3:26 pm

Going to have a cabinet up above? Use gravity! .44 psi per vertical foot.

We are doing that right now. Going to use one of the blue water jugs with a hose running down into a normal faucet. No electricity needed or pump seals to go bad. :thumbsup:
vtx1029
Teardrop Master

Postby glenpinpat » Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:24 pm

use gravity as mentioned above. You can buy a hand pump but after having one of these I think they are useless. I use a windshield wiper pump that sucks water out of a blue water container and then drains it through the sink into another blue container. One container has in big letters grey andd the other clean so we never mix them up. I use one of the old horn buttons that I push with my knee to activate the pump. In my vw I used to use my foot to activate it. Having said all that if I had to do it all again I would eliminate the sink as we almost never use it opting instead to wash dishes in a recycle bin and just tilting the blu water jug on its side.
glenpinpat
Teardrop Master

Postby pete42 » Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:16 pm

some use stainless steel bowls they get at one of the box stores.

they add a drain to the bottom after drilling a hole.

hand pumps have worked for me in a lot of trailers over the years.