Help a newbie find a quality CT

Converting Cargo Trailers into TTTs

Help a newbie find a quality CT

Postby subagon » Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:41 pm

Hi all,

I'm just beginning my journey into the world of CTC's. As step #1 I'm trying to find a quality made CT. It's early days, but I'm thinking about something around 7x14 for size. So I'm looking for suggestions for manufacturers of quality made CT's, or poorly made CT's to avoid.

TIA,

Mike
subagon
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Help a newbie find a quality CT

Postby CoventryKid » Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:28 pm

Welcome!

I bought a new NEO all aluminum trailer a couple of years ago and converted it into a travel trailer. I've not had any problems, even with skylights, fan, and 3 windows I installed.

I chose NEO for the quality and the weight - 7x16 x 7 empty with spare weighed 1870 lbs. I weighed it myself before I started conversion.

NEO uses real screws to attach 3/8 interior plywood to the walls, something you will appreciate when you come to insulate and wire.

Hope this helps!
Doug
Vancouver Island, BC

GMC Savana Explorer Limited SE hightop conversion van
NEO NAVR 7x16 V-nose aluminum trailer now a comfortable travel trailer

Build: http://www.tusker-international.com/1-trlr-build.html
CoventryKid
Teardrop Master

Postby flboy » Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:46 pm

I bought a Lark from Douglas Georgia. I think it is a well built trailer; however, they have some quality control issues, at least when it came to my trailer. I'd say not matter what brand you get, take off the interior plywood and inspect and paint the studs and ensure no leaks along the wall seams. Also, check all your wire connections to the trailer lights and ensuer they are good before sealing back up the walls.

Make sure they do use real screws as mentioned previously.... Lark did with mine.

Good luck...
Don (Flboy)

YouTube Video of Finished 6x12 Trailer:
https://youtu.be/6_-8cVdWUIA
YouTube Video of 7*18 with 2ft V-nose Trailer:
https://youtu.be/MUcMM86LA2g