Thoughts on this portable power box??

Converting Cargo Trailers into TTTs

Thoughts on this portable power box??

Postby mlowry7 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:16 pm

I'm not an electrician by any means, so this seems like a simple solution for shore power. I can see a simple power strip run for to one side for incidental plug in (phone chargers, etc), small microwave and small fridge. The other breaker for the roof top air. Any thoughts on this?
https://www.walmart.com/ip/CEP-Construc ... 3=&veh=sem
mlowry7
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Thoughts on this portable power box??

Postby troubleScottie » Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:08 am

Technically it should work. Most likely you can use other power strips or arrangements like the DeWalt radio. The addition of breakers makes it a quite a bit safer. And also gives you more wattage range -- most power strips are only 10 or 15 amp total.

There are some other issues.

It is relatively large -- and will take up space in the trailer. Left outside, it may grow legs. So this may not be an issue if this is not a true teardrop. Also the power cords stick out from the base. Although you can bend them back or use low profile plugs, this might increase the effective size.

You might have to make sure there is nothing on top of it.

Although they are for work sites, I am not sure how water proof they are. So they may or may not be safe outdoors.

To use the outlets, this will have to near by or at least accessible. So it might have to be in the galley area ie for microwave. This might make inaccessible for something in the cabin. A distribution center plus wiring plus outlets would not have that issue.

Although one is camping, one advantage of the trailer is once things are wired, there is little need to plug or re-plug any device. One could address the above issue by moving the box around. Not optimal, and irritating if you forget or need to move things around in the dark or rain.