TT Power While Driving

Converting Cargo Trailers into TTTs

TT Power While Driving

Postby Margali » Tue Aug 07, 2018 2:51 pm

We rented a standard TT over the 4th and some issues with it I want to avoid in our build. Even with being plugged in night before, then filled with frozen items the freezer thawed during 5hr drive in Texas heat. It was running in propane model. I lost some meds even with ice packs. :( It was also extremely hot to enter and use the restroom.

DH says we can get a bigger alternator for the Ram 1500 and run the AC and fridge without issues. Does that work? I am looking at 8K btu ac listed at 5.8A and Magic Chef fridge listed at 1.5A. The Ram currently has a 160A alternator and there is 220A available. We are running a 12V system but not sure how much AH capacity yet.

Any help would be great. I'm a mechanical engineer not EE. This is Greek to me.
Margali, DH, and 3 minions

2017 Ram 1500 Lonestar, 7'x 16'x 7'h v-nose
Margali
Teardrop Advisor

Re: TT Power While Driving

Postby flboy » Tue Aug 07, 2018 3:14 pm

Not sure what your build plans are, but many ways to solve that problem. I'd recommend a compressor fridge. Many types to choose from special purpose 12vdc fridges to run of the mill dormatory fridges. I run the 4.3 Cu. Ft. Dormatory style qFridge with freezer compartment off of deep cycle batteries and an inverter. Solar cells keep battery charged and batteries sustain overnight. Literally can run in perpetuity as it sets if there was never any equipment failures.

Many ways to charge batteries.. but bottom line is run a compressor fridge off batteries and maintain batteries. Propane fridges work, but are not as efficient nor as controllable.

Just my thoughts.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Don (Flboy)

YouTube Video of Finished 6x12 Trailer:
https://youtu.be/6_-8cVdWUIA
YouTube Video of 7*18 with 2ft V-nose Trailer:
https://youtu.be/MUcMM86LA2g
flboy
Gold Donating Member

Postby kirkupnorth » Tue Aug 07, 2018 4:13 pm