Made a mistake this weekend

...the place to share tales of your travels and pics of your adventures...

Made a mistake this weekend

Postby JOMO » Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:17 pm

Well I'm new at this trailer stuff so I go close to home and practice. I went to unhook the jeep from the teardrop and forgot to undo the chains. At this time my TD sets on a block, we don't have a wheel yet for the tongue and I pulled it off the block. I went looking for a man to help and this nice young lady said we don't have any men camping with us but let me see what I can do. She was able to pick up the trailer while I repositioned the block. I promised her I wouldn't make that mistake again. I got a pull thru site but I wanted to practice backing in. So I tried and man was I glad I had a pull thru I couldn't even get the TD to go anywhere near that site. I finally just pulled in. I think I need someone there to guide me next time I try. My grand-daughter and I had a great time and I did learn something so all in all good trip.
JOMO
Teardrop Builder

Re: Made a mistake this weekend

Postby citylights » Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:45 pm

Practice backing up in a big empty parking lot. It takes some time to get a feel for it. Start with the car and trailer straight, front tires straight. Back up real slow. Turn the swearing wheel a small amount while backing. See what that does. Pull forward to get straight again. Back and turn the wheel the other way. Over and over until it comes more natural.

I find that I have to make really small movements with the steering wheel, otherwise it gets crazy fast! Also, of something goes wrong, you can always pull up and start over.

Good luck!

Oh, and get a wheeled jack on the front of your teardrop!
citylights
500 Club

Postby JOMO » Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:25 pm