A Small Hopper--(the SunHopper)

Design & Construction of anything that's not a teardrop e.g. Grasshoppers or Sunspots

A Small Hopper--(the SunHopper)

Postby rmclarke » Sun Apr 13, 2008 1:58 am

I joined this group about a year ago (Apr 07) with hopes of starting some kind of build, but alas...life happened (you know, finances, family stuff, etc) and some things just have to get put on the back burner :cry: ......but I'm determined to do something!! So, I got this old pop-up frame from this guy for next to nothing because, well, that's what it was....next to nothing:

The thing sat in my back yard since last September
I've been working at it for the last two months and I finished the frame tonight:

The torsion axle is rated at 1500# but I want to try and build as light as I can what with gas prices, well, you know.....

Here's what I'm thinking....there's stuff in these pics that may or may not make the final cut, but this is the basic shape and idea:

There are sooo many good ideas on this forum, I find it hard to make final decisions about everything right away, so I've decided to begin something and sort of see what develops :thinking: I'm hoping I can make some moderate progress this summer so I won't have to go back in 'hiding' for a year.

Best regards,
Richard :(
Last edited by rmclarke on Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
"When a hammer is the only tool you own, every problem begins to look like a nail..."

ImageFrom this: Image to this: Image Finally!!
rmclarke
The 300 Club

Postby TPMcGinty » Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:05 am

Nice job on the frame! It looks new! So what size is your trailer going to be?
Tim

TPMcGinty
Gold Donating Member

Re: A Small Hopper

Postby bobhenry » Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:42 am