Newbie Question: What's the name for my design idea?

Design & Construction of anything that's not a teardrop e.g. Grasshoppers or Sunspots

Newbie Question: What's the name for my design idea?

Postby boojieboy » Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:26 pm

[preface: sorry about the multiple posts. As I said, I am a newbie, and I'm not sure which forum to put this in.]

Hi All! Just starting in here because I am finally starting a trailer/camper project that I've been meaning to do since teardrops first caught my eye about ten years ago.

A little background on me: I'm 40-ish, wife and ten year old boy who's growing like mad, despite a pasta-and-dairy-only diet that makes me cringe.

So we have limited funds, but oodles of time and creative energy this summer. I am moderately handy and endowed with power tools. I have an old steel frame trailer that I bought when I sold my pickup, to haul stuff around. It's made to have a 4x8 footprint, though I could go a bit wider and longer if need be. There are ten metal anchor points that accept 2inch square stock vertical inserts, to create vertical supports for side rails. I am currently cleaning and repainting it, and will likely upgrade the springs and wheels to an approx 1500# load rating.

Any way, here's my thoughts:

What I'd like to do is make the trailer a hybrid cargo hauler/pop up camper. When in cargo mode, it'd have four side walls, approx 30inchs high, with a solid roof. Pulling it behind my subaru outback, it'd have a lower profile and would not create as much drag as a full height box trailer. Why haul around all that dead air space? Cleverly compacting it could make it much more efficient, if not nearly as cool looking as a tear drop.

When we're travelling, I'd drive with in in cargo mode. Only thing is that in addition to the food, supplies, etc, part of my cargo would be four additional wall panels (with windows probably). When we arrive for camp, our setup would be as follows:

Step 1: remove top and cargo.