Mini Popup with MOAB tent

Design & Construction of anything that's not a teardrop e.g. Grasshoppers or Sunspots

Mini Popup with MOAB tent

Postby adam25 » Mon Sep 05, 2011 7:10 pm

I've been a long time lurker and a huge fan of teardrop. For the past couple years, I've been driving my girlfriend crazy planning and talking about a build. Unfortunately we kept coming back to the question of what to do with our 2 60lb dogs in a teardrop.

I also really liked the simplicity of the MOAB tent and the explorer box, but was not comfortable with the idea of them sleeping in the changing room addition, and there isnt room in the bed for all four of us.

Here is what I have come up with. This is my first time using Google sketchup, had a lot of fun with it. All measurements are approximate.

If anyone is unfamiliar with the MOAB tent Image

My plan is to build on a 4X8 trailer. Since the tent is 56" wide I will build over the wheels. The base will be a 8'long, 30"high, and 60"wide box.
Under the bed will be open storage, and space for the dogs to sleep once we set up. With the tent mounted on the front 42" of the trailer, that will leave a small area to build a small dinette that is 36" wide. There will also be a small table that will be able to convert into a child size bed in the future(no kids yet), a bit smaller than shown in the sketchup.

I am also planning on building a small slide out kitchen. just a small sink, camp stove and work area. when traveling, it will be stored on the floor of the trailer between the seats.

I would like to know what everyone thinks about this plan. I am still undecided about how to close in the back of the trailer. I thinking of wood frame covered with canvas that will fold up and pack away when in travel mode.

-Adam
adam25
Teardrop Inspector

Postby steve smoot » Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:16 am

I like the idea, but would a standard pop up not work just as well? :thinking:
I am not a complete idiot, some parts are missing...
steve smoot