VermonTear 4x8 "Moby" Build ~ Dec 11 -- ?

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

VermonTear 4x8 "Moby" Build ~ Dec 11 -- ?

Postby VermonTear » Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:15 am

Well... here goes.

This will be the diary of my build of my first teardrop trailer.

Although I've done a fair amount of woodworking over the past 30 years, built some nice furniture pieces, remodeled an old farmhouse, designed and built a pretty nice kitchen with good-looking (if I do say so myself) red birch cabinets, and built some nice okume strip kayaks from Chesapeake Light Kits, this will be my first teardrop, and my first venture into something with 12 volts, an axle, and wheels.

I've been scouring the internet and this site for a couple of months and have settled on a 4x8 profile somewhere between Grant Whipp's L'il Bear and Steve Frederick's design for Peg Brown. I've gotten my shop cleaned up, my space organized, supplies ordered, and some of the parts I'll be needing sourced and on the way.

I have a large, very professional and competent welding machine shop 3 minutes away in our small town and they are going to weld up the chassis to my specs. In my seventh decade, welding is not a skill I wanted to develop. I am also blessed with having a trailer sales, parts and service facility a few minutes in the other direction, so I was able to talk through a lot of the Dexter axle issues with them (and with the Dexter engineers via phone), and order wheels, tires and chassis parts easily (and economically it turned out.)

Day 1 -- Dec 2

I spent $45 (well spent, I decided since it saved me at least 8 hours of head-scratching) on Grant Whipp's full size drawing of his L'il Bear and got to work on December 2.

This is Grant's L'il Bear Profile secured to two sheets of ply that I will cut out to use as my pattern (one for the pattern, one for a safety backup) as I build the teardrop.