Bear's Lair

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

Bear's Lair

Postby Nobes » Sun Feb 28, 2016 12:55 am

Hey boys & girls. I started today!

My wife & I are campers from way back, but we've always used tents. My parents had RVs--it always seemed like cheating. I've even had my wife out there backpacking with me! She is a trouper, and I am one lucky guy. But, as the years roll on, I wonder how long we can keep that up...

So one night we're watching TV & we see a show called Flipping Trailers. The little trailers they work on are intriguing, so we start talking about it. Next thing you know we find pictures of teardrops and are looking to see if any are for sale near us. We find a few, but they are in horrible shape. We keep searching, and discover that tons of these are home made. I'm a woodworker, and I think "I can do that."

Then I found this site and had to be reminded I have a full time job! We settled on a design and had a goal for finishing the build by Easter. Then I tore up my finger so instead I am starting at Easter.

I bought a HF red trailer, which has been sitting for 2 months. Today I finally began assembly. I have the frame bolted up and square, tomorrow I will add axle, tires, tongue, etc. hopefully I will also get the floor assembled as well so this week I can work on treating it with The Mix and hopefully get it bolted on before next Saturday.

My design is a 5x8 Grumman. I made the front & rear curves into the floor a little less severe.

I am planning on plywood sides, but I wonder if solid walls would work--edge-joined ash. Maybe a little heavier, but I save tons of worry on sealing the edges. Let me know what you think.

Here are a few pics. It went well today, a good start. 139673139674139675139672139676
Last edited by Nobes on Mon Apr 03, 2017 3:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Nobes
Teardrop Master

Re: Bear's Lair West Texas