A little project called the Boreal 3

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

A little project called the Boreal 3

Postby Boreal » Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:16 pm

So here we go.

I just took possession of a 5x8 H&H, and she's a beauty.

I figure every good trailer ought to have a name, and I've chosen "Boreal". See back in the day, when I was a research biologist, my professional interest was in boreal forest ecology. Think spruce forests that cover most of mid to northern Canada. My nickname back then amongst the nerdy crowd was "Boreal".

So the Boreal 3 it is!

The "3" comes from the number of sleepers it will accommodate; me, my wife, and our nine year old daughter. Later on I'll post my build rationale and design considerations, but in short...

• 6x10 trailer built on a 5x8 bed
  • Cross-ways bunk for the lil girl.
  • "Modified" foamie construction with zebra wood, bubinga, and mahogany skin, finished with 4ox fiberglass cloth and resin.
  • About 10 inches of storage between the trailer bed bottom and the base.
  • Lots of olde schoole styling sensibility.

I've got practical homebuilding experience, but the precision cabinet making skills are a bit rusty. I'm a framer, dammit, not a brain surgeon! But I've done a tonne of research, so many ideas. There will definitely be some unique features in this build.
Last edited by Boreal on Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:23 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Boreal
Teardrop Builder

Re: A little project called the Boreal 3

Postby Boreal » Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:47 pm

So I got the thing delivered and installed in my garage workshop. The wife is not happy (not being able to use the garage as, you know, a garage, but semper fidelis, so she's stuck with me. And it. Included in the purchase was a spare tire and rim, and two stabilizing jacks that I'll need to have welded on.