Aluminum skinned semi-streamliner

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

Aluminum skinned semi-streamliner

Postby Runout » Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:22 pm

Okiedoke...pretty new here, but I've been lurking awhile trying to scavenge ideas. This is probably going to be a slow build, so don't expect a lot of action in here. I was a carpenter for 25 years before health issues shut me down, so I figure I should be plenty handy to tackle this. The theme for this build is CHEAP. I'm going to try to focus on reusing and repurposing as much junk as I can, without looking like that's what I'm doing. This is where I'm at:

The broad strokes:
I'm looking to build a small, lightweight trailer to tow behind my Subaru Crosstrek. It's rated for 1500 lbs tow capacity here in Canada, but the same car is rated for 3000 in Australia, so unless their upside-down gravity does something to the towing capacity of vehicles there, I'm not too scared to go a tad over 1500. Car is 5'9 wide, so that's what I designed the width of the trailer to be, so as not to interfere with the mirrors. Headroom is 6'7" as designed from floor to the bottom of the arch framing, but that's subject to change. I'm 6' tall so I don't think I want to drop too much below that. I have the length set at 12' for now, but that may change as well, depending on minimum space requirements.

Major design elements: