Another (almost) 5x8 Benroy

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

Another (almost) 5x8 Benroy

Postby Schnitzel » Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:04 pm

So I’m a new guy here. I’ve been lurking for a while since my girlfriend and I have decided to build a teardrop and our first step in the process was to Google, “building a teardrop,” and that led us to you folks. These forums have been really helpful so far, so thank you all for that.

We were originally looking at a 4x8 nano weekender-inspired type on a Harbor Freight trailer, but decided to go a bit different route. First off, I have a HF trailer that I haul my 4-wheeler on and while it is a good value in a lot of ways, it didn’t seem quite right for our build. One of the HF trailer’s big benefits is that it doesn’t require welding. But since I’m a welding engineer and have more metal working tools than wood working tools (not to mention more skill in metal than wood…), that really wasn’t a huge advantage and a custom chassis seemed more appropriate, especially since I remember paying about $230 for my HF trailer a number of years back and they seem to have gone up to $400 (minus the 20% coupons that come around every so often, of course). In any case, I figured I could build a trailer for a bit more than the HF kit, but get some nice upgrades like larger tires and maybe even a torsion axle in the process.