First Build: No Exp, No Money, LOTS of Questions & Planning!

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

First Build: No Exp, No Money, LOTS of Questions & Planning!

Postby Papergazer » Sat Sep 03, 2016 12:54 am

Hello everyone!

I have been dreaming of a tiny travel trailer for many years now, and I've decided that I'm going to start making some progress with it instead of it just being a dream.
I have no building experience whatsoever and not a lot of money, but I do have determination and ingenuity, and I like the idea of the challenge.

I live on Vancouver Island, which has excellent camping/travel opportunities but lots of rain, and I'm getting tired of tent camping. I plan to use my tear drop to travel around the Island in, possibly spending an entire summer (May-Sept) living in it. It has to be light enough to tow with a car. I would like it to be high quality build with a creative exterior...a conversation piece if you will. I'm thinking hybrid teardrop/gypsy vardo. My intention is to make it a work of art, in a sense, something that draws a bit of attention and will make a name for itself. The reason I would like to do this is to add value to it, with the intention that I will sell it later for a fair profit...maybe to fund some materials and supplies for a future tiny house build or small living space.

One great resource that I do have is that my husband works in the demolition industry, so I can find salvaged building materials pretty easily. I am open to buying what is necessary to finish the project, but will build whatever I can with salvage. I have a few tools of my own, and I have a friends shop that I can borrow or hire him for $20/hr if I need access to big tools, but I plan on doing most of the work myself in my back yard.