6 X 8 Alumium Top Plywood Sides Teardrop (My First Build)

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

6 X 8 Alumium Top Plywood Sides Teardrop (My First Build)

Postby Evan Dunville » Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:40 pm

Hey Everyone,
I am currently a good way into my teardrop build, I am a woodworking hobbyist and have wanted to make a teardrop for a while. This spring when i brought the idea up to my wife she was actually for it and off i went. I am very fortunate in that i have a fully set up wood shop in my garage and my parents live next door with an empty garage i am using for storing and assembling the trailer. My overall budget is less than $2500 Canadian and it looks like that will be a reality. Also im supposed to be taking it out July 7th (its currently June 26th)

I am currently a good way into the build and there definitely a number of mistakes made along the way. I received a good amount of advise from the Teardrop trailer subreddit about must have features and overall building techniques.

Here is a basic features rundown for my trailer

-6' Wide X 8' 6" long tallest height 4'
-Trailer is a home build single axle i received from a co worker for free.
- New 4.8x12 Tires
- New LED Tail lights
- 1.5" thick walls and floor, 1" thick roof
- 1.5" rigid foam floor insulation, spray foam on walls and roof.
- 1/4" plywood inner and outer walls (mahogany), 1.5" (2X) framing of wall internals (all glued down with titebond 3)
- 1/2' Tar coated plywood floor, 1.5" thick framing (2X lumber) 1/2" plywood subfloor, (glued and screwed together PL premium)
- 1/8" plywood roof (inside and outside)
- 2 doors, 2 windows (reclaimed RV windows)
- 1.5" thick solid cedar doors with raised internal panel
- Mill finish aluminum roof wrap one solid piece
- Marine Varnished exterior plywood wall
- Front mounted truck tool box storage/work surface/battery compartment