Multi function 5-8'x12' trailer!!

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

Multi function 5-8'x12' trailer!!

Postby Murdy » Wed Mar 31, 2021 8:18 am

Hi everyone! I've been building my trailer now for a few months... but entirely in my head, and mostly at 3am when I can't sleep! Hahaha!

I'll start with a description of what I'm planning, and hopefully you all can chime in and tell me where my bad ideas are before I turn them into reality.

So... as mentioned in the title, it will be a 12' long build. The "5-8" portion of the description is because the front will be 5' (wide enough for a queen mattress) as will the entire interior. At the wheels, I'll be building the frame out to expand around the wheels. Above the wheels will be compartments to hold gear and utilities on the one side, and an outdoor kitchen on the other. I'll have a cargo style door on the back to allow for loading bikes and/or animals when hunting. And, since i recently sold my F150, I'll need to be able to use the trailer for hardware store runs as well. The interior height will need to be 6'3" in order to eliminate eff bombs when smashing my head. (I'm 6'1")

I'll be building it so that the tongue height will be at right around 24". As I'll be aiming for a total dry weight of less than 2000lbs and a max GVWR of 3500lbs (although I plan to only use that in the extreme circumstances), I've got 2 Timbren 1THD axle-less suspension systems coming. The hubs match my tow vehicle in order to have multi purpose spare tires. (5x114.3)