My Canned Ham Design

Canned Hams of all types and sizes...and Bread Boxes to go with that ham......

My Canned Ham Design

Postby pebo » Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:24 pm

I have been working up different designs for several years now and I finally have a design I hope to start building once the snow melts. I guess it could be considered a Canned Ham but that is never the food stuff I see when I look at it. The cabin is 11’ long by 6’-2â€
pebo
Teardrop Inspector

Postby doug hodder » Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:41 pm

I really like the design...that rear dormer is cool!!! I've done a couple of trolley tops (on tears) and did them up in epoxy/paint for a finish. It was basically all just shaping wood and a load of body work in epoxy/paint. Your design will be more challenging if you want to do it up with an aluminum or any metallic skin. On my canned ham...just did aluminum, but no trick dormer like you have. If you widened it to the full width of the trailer, it would be an easy one to do in aluminum roof. Doug
doug hodder
*Snoop Dougie Doug

Postby droid_ca » Tue Mar 29, 2011 9:11 pm

thats a really cool design :thumbsup:
There is a world, just beyond now,
where reality runs a razor thin seam between fact and possibility;

Anywhere I roam where I lay my head is home....
“Fide Canem”
Please check out my build thread
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=52816
droid_ca
Donating Member

Postby doug hodder » Tue Mar 29, 2011 9:35 pm

Is it 6'2" wide counting the wheels or no? If no...that's getting really wide. Doug
doug hodder
*Snoop Dougie Doug

Postby Miriam C. » Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:10 pm

You might be sure to tip that ledge on the dormer so it doesn't hold water in a driving rain.

“Forgiveness means giving up all hope for a better past.â€
Miriam C.
our Aunti M

Postby Wimperdink » Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:54 pm

If you build as well as you sketchup, that will be a gorgeous camper. Care to share the sketchup file so we can look around it?