Using Foam as a "mold" for Fiberglass or CF Teardrop

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Using Foam as a "mold" for Fiberglass or CF Teardrop

Postby shootr » Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:10 pm

As you can see from the post count, super-noob here, wrought with teardrop fever and planning on a build this summer/fall.

I've built a few small things with epoxy/fiberglass (roof console for a jeep, surfboard, etc) but nothing bigger than that. I'm up for the challenge of using this material if I can get some advice/opinions/critiques of a few thoughts. Otherwise I'll go foam/plywood route.

I'd like to create a 8' x 4' shell for a traditional teardrop design, then layup 2 layers of FG or CF mat/epoxy. The floor would be traditional plywood/stud buildup. The kicker is after the fiberglass is cured, I want to remove the foam and leave the shell behind. Lateral support would come from the bulkhead between the sleeping area and galley. The galley door would be cut out of the shell and reinforced, and RV style shorty doors used in the cabin. I worry about fatigue cracking, getting enough support for the galley door hinge, stuff like that. I guess it's just an attempt to be different...

I don't need the insulation of the foam - heat is more the issue here in AZ, and even if I camp in the winter, blankets in a tent always worked before.

Anywho, if you're bored, feel free to share your thoughts. Thanks!
shootr
Silver Donating Member

Re: Using Foam as a "mold" for Fiberglass or CF Teardrop

Postby KCStudly » Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:26 pm

Nothing wrong with embedding some hardwood ribs in the hatch area to act as screw blocks for your hatch hinge and give some depth of section for adding stiffness to the FG structure.