Hybrid Foamie: Wild Wanderer in Foam-now with sketches

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Hybrid Foamie: Wild Wanderer in Foam-now with sketches

Postby Ned B » Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:37 pm

Welcome to my Build thread... the first section was written when I had all of the good intentions of building a trailer to haul my photo gear for a former job (really former, as in 4 employers ago...) My situation has changed in a Huge way, so I'm re-titling the thread. Some of the info in the first section is still applicable, so I'm going to simply put a redirect link to the New stuff here... and update the title.

Link to the restart on page 3: viewtopic.php?f=55&t=50718&p=1005478#p1005471

Hi gang,
I had a thread started about a project I'm going to start in a couple of weeks.

I'm a traveling photographer, meaning I go, set up a studio on site and do portraits (currently). This means I haul a Lot of gear with me:
That is a 'complete' studio set up for my employer; Lifetouch. The only items not in that pile that I carry were a cart/dolly which folds down pretty compactly, three posing stools and a 40" plastic tote.
Here's a shot of what my SUV looks like (older set of equipment)
I currently haul all of this gear around with me in my SUV, And while that's been acceptable, it means that when I'm home on weekends, we have to either all cram in around my gear, or unload all or part of it into the house to use the SUV as a family.

That's the 'studio storage' part of the equation, storing that much gear when I'm on the road.

I'm also a former full time RV'er, I lived out of a 27' 5th wheel by Shadowcruiser, which looked very much like this:

That's obviously a much larger trailer than normally found on here, but it is relevant to this thread.