Portapotties

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Portapotties

Postby Wobbly Wheels » Sun Jun 24, 2012 11:25 am

It came up in another thread, so rather than hijack Mel's build thread...

I have little experiences with them ... What do you guys use and why do you like it ... I’m thinking the Big issue is cleaning ...

Yes I am also interested in a porta potty.

I went downstairs and took some (simulated!!!) 'action shots' of mine. I think they all work pretty much the same.
Here's mine:
The blue concentrate makes them easier to live with...

A few pumps to get water in the bowl:

Pull handle to flush:

To empty it, there's a wire handle that unlocks the two halves:
Now it's just a matter of taking the 'jerry can' to a gas station washroom to dump it if there's no sani available. You don't need the special extra-flimsy toilet paper like you do with tanked systems, since it's going down a toilet anyway.

I'm building a pedestal for it to sit on because it's so low - we're both tall and that's a long way down !
Wobbly Wheels
Donating Member

Re: Portapotties

Postby GPW » Sun Jun 24, 2012 11:45 am

COOL info , Thanks !!!! I was worried it’d be too tall for my 4’ ceiling ... :thumbsup:
Cleaning that doesn’t look so bad eh ?
There’s no place like Foam !
GPW
Gold Donating Member

Postby jeff0520 » Sun Jun 24, 2012 11:58 am

No thank you on the porta potty. Everywhere we have ever camped had at least outhouses available. If we ever camp anywhere REALLY remote, the Boy Scouts taught me how to dig a latrine, and properly fill it in when I'm done with it.. Call me crazy, but I'd rather dig a hole than empty a porta potty. :shrug:
For just such a situation I have a tent with no floor, and a chair with a hole in the seat saved up. A quick stop for a bucket of lime, and we are set.
Hypno-Toad's Command Post, the build thread! http://www.tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=50384

jeff0520
The 300 Club