Bullet Tear

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Bullet Tear

Postby C5shark » Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:29 pm

Hi all!

I just got registered last night so I thought I'd stop in and introduce myself. I'm new to the camper realm, but after seeing a friend's teardrop a couple weeks ago I got inspired to build one. The intended use is going to be for traveling to various SCCA and pro sportscar races where I generally have access to facilities, but am just getting lazy about setting up a tent.

The tow vehicle is primarily going to be a 2014 Chevy Cruze, 1.4L turbo with manual trans, although it may occasionally get hitched to the GTO. The Cruze doesn't have gobs of power, so my goal is to keep things pretty bare bones in order to stay light. I'm also trying to incorporate some aero-efficiency into the design (using my limited knowledge of the subject) to aid the Cruze in towing. What I've settled on as far as requirements are, roughly 60"W x 48" H x 96"-108"L. I'll be building a trailer to suit the camper so i can maximize weight savings and place the axle properly to keep the tongue light. And of course, it will be a foamie!

I've never built something like this before, but I am just going through some various designs to see what will work best for me. Here's something I began drawing up last night, maybe this is a little crazy/ambitions/impractical, but again I'm just brainstorming.