A canned ham in foam: Built

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

A canned ham in foam: Built

Postby NMMarauder » Thu Feb 19, 2015 11:34 am

I thought I would introduce myself and my build. My name is Ron and I'm a mechanical engineer from Albuquerque, NM. I've spent the majority of my career writing software and doing statistical work. Go figure! Anyway, I like building things in my spare time and I decided my next project would be a trailer. The quality of work and ingenuity of designs on this site have set the bar very high. Here were my design criteria going into the project.

1. A pleasure to tow, simple and functional, and stylish. That pretty much describes the appeal of a teardrop trailer.
2. Standing room, a permanent bed, a permanent dinette, a potty. Ready to step into with no setup. A canned ham fits this pretty well and I really like the shape.
3. As inexpensive as practical. Foam fits the bill for keeping it light and inexpensive.

That's how I got to a foam canned ham.

Dimension specifics:
Width of trailer: 79 inches overall. Interior width of 75 inches.
Height interior: approx. 6 feet
Length of trailer cab: 12 feet. 3.5 foot long tongue
Total trailer length: 15.5 feet
Overall trailer height of less than 90 inches (7.5 feet)

Here is a look at the exterior design. Curbside:

Streetside:

Here is the ¼ scale model I made to get a better look at the shape and to be able to try out different paint schemes. I'm all ears if you have ideas for the paint scheme. This is just a first shot.

Interior:
Dinette up front. It is drawn with a round table but I’ll make it with a table that can be turned into another bed or bench seating.
Potty compartment by the door. The compartment might turn into a cubby but it is shown here as a full compartment.
Pantry shelving designed to hold wicker baskets.
Cooler (the green thing) slides under the bed. That's a big 5 day @ 90 degrees cooler.