Wasted foam ?

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Wasted foam ?

Postby rustytoolss » Wed Oct 05, 2016 11:53 am

Planning to buy my sheets of XPS foam soon :thumbsup: . I think I will need 10 pieces (ttt). Since I've never built anything with foam board before. How may sheets of foam , did you waste (ruin) building your foamie :thumbdown: ?
Mostly Old Parts And Rust= MOPAR
rustytoolss
500 Club

Re: Wasted foam ?

Postby KCStudly » Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:25 pm

None. If you screw something up it is easy to glue it back together.

Okay, in truth I do have a small pile of off cut chunks and strips, plus several 2x8x3/4 slabs that I apparently over bought, but the yield is usually very good and you will find all kinds of useful things to do with the excess chunks (tongue box, clamp savers, knee mat/pad, drink cozy, etc.)

Google "free sheet goods optimizer" to find an app that will help you enter your cut sizes and determine the least number of sheets you will need.
KC
My Build: The Poet Creek Express Hybrid Foamie

Poet Creek Or Bust
Engineering the TLAR way - "That Looks About Right"
TnTTT ORIGINAL 200A LANTERN CLUB = "The 200A Gang"
Green Lantern Corpsmen
KCStudly
Donating Member

Postby yrock87 » Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:54 pm

Once again I find myself agreeing with KCStudly and wondering what else I can contribute to the conversation. I picked up 12? 2x8 sheets of 1 inch foam and have 2 left over. then again I still have my hatch to potentially insulate.