Requesting Plan critique

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Requesting Plan critique

Postby J.Squirrel » Mon Jul 03, 2017 12:29 pm

Hey there. This is my first build, and I would love some critique on my plan from the experts.
My goal for my first TD is to learn the skills to build my next ones properly, (and take it camping this summer, probably and ambitious goal). I'm focused on making something cheap and quick, with a life span of ~5 years.

So far I have a lot of progress into the design. I'm favoring an aerodynamic over a classic design especially in the rear. It's based closest to a new Cub design. I'm going for a foamie hybrid with a canvas paint shell. I have to wire up a HF 8'x4' trailer and its good to go. I already installed a tow hitch on my toyota camry. I have plastic piano wire hinges and two 20x24 cargo doors (I'm a small person and don't mind the squeeze, will probably upgrade later).

I'm planning to put foam between the walls, with luan 1/4 plywood shell it.

Design questions:
1) For the wall upright braces in blue, will 2"x3/4" plywood suffice or maybe two layers of 3/4" plywood screwed and glued together. Or would it be better to have some 1"x1"/2"x2" pine braces? I have a bunch of spare 3/4 inch plywood that I would like to use up.

2) for Horizontal braces (in red) across the roof, is 3/4x3/4" pine sufficent? should I have a larger size?

3) will the rear flat walll complicate the hinge/seal process?

4) any other big pitfalls.

Cheers!
J. Squirrel
J.Squirrel
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Requesting Plan critique

Postby mikeschn » Mon Jul 03, 2017 2:03 pm

I don't think you need that much wood in the walls...

Look how much I used... here: viewtopic.php?p=1136992#p1136992

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin

Postby tony.latham » Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:12 pm