Jumping on the Foamiewagon

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Jumping on the Foamiewagon

Postby burnskodie21 » Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:28 am

This is my first build so things could get a little sketchy but here goes!!

I didn't make an account until now so I have some catching up to do on my build. So strap in and try to keep the cringes to a minimum :frightened: .

I started out on a pop-up camper frame I got for free from a friend. All I had to do was buy some new wheels and tires and cut off some rails I wasn't going to use and it was good to go!

My plan was to make it at least 6ft wide, 8ft long and 4ft high so I wouldn't have to join anything together on the outside.

Here is my start to a floor frame on top of the trailer frame. I had to build it up a little to clear the tires.

Here it is after I finished insulating and adding the flooring. (Ignore the tiny chair on top, I fixed my daughter's chair while I had the wood glue out.)I sealed the bottom with the nasty black roofing tar. That took waaaaaaaay longer than I anticipated and was suuuuuuuuuuper messy but it's done now so I'm happy.

Next I finished wiring the trailer lights and I attached stabilizer jacks to the back.

I cut out the sides and sanded them to match. This is the dry fit!

I then cut out notches in the top to allow for the spars. And glued them into place.

And here is where I'm at Currently. Framing in the countertop and cabinets. We ended up not extending the countertop to the end so we could access the cooler without moving it.

I'm a little worried about the side doors and the galley hatch but I'll tackle those when I get there :frightened:
burnskodie21
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Jumping on the Foamiewagon

Postby JazzVinyl » Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:18 pm

burnskodie21 wrote:161864

And here is where I'm at Currently. Framing in the countertop and cabinets. We ended up not extending the countertop to the end so we could access the cooler without moving it.