tiny 5th wheel

Member designs created in Sketchup or other cad program

tiny 5th wheel

Postby cooterdude » Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:40 am

OK so i have been lurking on the site for awhile and have been coming up with ideas on what kind of camper would best suit my needs
i have decided that a 5th wheel layout will be the best for me

here is my design i threw together with ms paint please don't laugh its my first time using it
any feed back would be greatly appreciated and any sketch up gurus that know how to shrink sketch up files to the required size
if you can tell me how i have a couple more designs i did in sketchup to show you guys
Attachments
0501st_05_z+1994_chevy_s10+left_side_view.jpg
0501st_05_z+1994_chevy_s10+left_side_view.jpg (104.48 KiB) Viewed 5661 times
cooterdude
Teardrop Inspector

Re: tiny 5th wheel

Postby jeffmutch » Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 am

I like your thinking, but you'll need more clearance over the cab of the truck if you want to drive anywhere not perfectly flat.

It might be an aerodynamic nightmare having such a space between the two, but it needs to be done to avoid disaster.

Good luck and keep us updated! :thumbsup:
Those people that constantly need a pat on the back to feel proud of thier accomplishments typically don't go very far...
jeffmutch
Teardrop Advisor

Postby Woodbutcher » Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:26 am

First off, I am not an Engineer. But I have seen them on Television. I like your idea, but my concern would be the weight of your project. If you are pulling with an S-10 you may exceed the safe limit of it's towing ability. If it was my project I may eliminate the part over the cab. That is just me. If you are able to figure the expected finished weight it may answer these questions. Also that is a lot of area on the sides to catch wind. Good luck with your project and keep us informed!
Woodbutcher
Platinum Donating Member

Postby jeff0520 » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:51 am