5 x 9 Camper

Member designs created in Sketchup or other cad program

5 x 9 Camper

Postby Squareback » Fri Dec 25, 2015 3:51 pm

Using Cabinet Vision to design my first camper. It's a CAD based program that links to a CNC. I have been designing and building cabinetry for over 20 years and figured it's just a box with more boxes in it. I created scaled objects like a propane tank, cooler and bed so you could see how things fit and relate to one another. My design needed to be robust and short as the camper will be towed behind a Jeep and taken to remote locations where tree limbs are never cut higher than the roof of a Jeep. Being in remote locations the design had to incorporate elements to make it self sufficient and able to be out for up to two weeks with no outside contact. The finished camper will have the following: 200 watts of solar power, 2 Trojan 145+ 6v batteries wired in a series, solar controller, fuse box, solar monitor in cabin, LED lighting, 12v outlets, 12v water pump, 12v stereo system, cabin and kitchen speakers, 65 qt cooler, 18 gallon tank bolted to bottom for shower water, Triton instant hot shower unit, 10 20 gal propane tank, 2) 5 gal military grade water cans, 1) 5 gallon military grade gas can and possibly a couple 120v outlets for shore power. After considerable research I decided to use 3/4" 13 ply baltic birch with exterior grade glue as my sides, decks, kitchen cabinetry and bulkhead, 1/2 baltic birch 9 ply as my bottom, top and drawer construction., bamboo for cabin cabinetry and ceiling and luan and 1/8" birch bendy boards for curved areas. I also used solid white oak for ceiling joists and floor joists. I ran electrical thru the floor and through the ceiling. In hindsight I would probably do a 3/4" floor and run all electrical through ceiling on my next build to simplify matters. I do like the double floor construction for strength and rigidity. It also gives you air gaps to insulate if you so choose. The trailer was purchased from