Skinning with Wood Planks

Finishes, paints and coatings

Skinning with Wood Planks

Postby cosmicWy » Mon Mar 04, 2019 2:19 pm

Hello All!

First off, a big thank you to this whole community. I have been lurking and losing sleep for months just scouring this absolute treasure trove of information. Because of this site, I have redesigned a sawtooth/grasshopper/teardrop style trailer multiple times with multiple methods. I am still moving forward with my chassis build and soon I will have to make a decision on my skin and look.

With that in mind, I have finally settled on a look and because I am a hipster/retrophile, I would really like to skin my micro-camper with wood planks. I have lots of construction background, but nothing specifically related to this portion of the project.

My general construction was going to be framing a 1x4 wall (or cutting out of a joined 4x10 3/4" plywood) and insulating the wall. I was then hoping to attach boards directly to that framing. Once the boards were up, I would either Epoxy them or fiberglass them (4oz and epoxy).

For my roof, I was considering a rubber roof on plywood. The roof would run on top to the outer edge of the skin and then putting a metal trim and butyl tape to complete the waterproofing.

Does anyone see any glaring issues with this? I have found lots of examples of builds with this "look" but I haven't found any build journals that explicitly describe the methods for water sealing.

thanks in advance for any help!

P.S. this is the look of the side skin that I am going for: https://imgur.com/a/haYXl4O
cosmicWy
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Skinning with Wood Planks

Postby Nodrog » Mon Mar 04, 2019 4:34 pm

hey duuude! I'm sure you'll hear from the artist soon, but I recognize that very distinctive build- viewtopic.php?f=50&t=62386 . He is an active poster on the site and I am sure he will help any way he can...hope the link works! Nodrog
Nodrog
Teardrop Master

Postby Pmullen503 » Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:08 pm