Maximum towing speed

All about towing and tow vehicles

Maximum towing speed

Postby Robert Ley » Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:38 pm

My winter project is to build my first TD trailer. I have some plans and am in the process of getting the trailer frame. I have pretty much settled on the 5x8 Ironton trailer from Northern Tool. It has 12inch tires and my question is, how fast can I safely tow this trailer after I have built the Tear Drop? I will be using a Subaru Forester and would just like to keep up with traffic, say 65-70 mph. I have a 14 ft Wells Cargo enclosed trailer that I have been towing for years albeit not with the Subaru, so I am an experienced driver but not with such a small trailer. What are your experiences towing a TD such as mine and is the 5x8 Ironton trailer a good choice?

This is my first post, but probably not my last.
Thanks in advance for any help and this is a great source of info
Robert
Robert Ley
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Maximum towing speed

Postby DrewsBrews » Mon Feb 08, 2016 8:23 pm

Honestly there is no magic number. Usually the lower the weight the safer it is since the vehicle weight has more influence, though stability has more to do with the % of the trailer weight as tongue weight and length of tongue. You'll just have to see what you are comfortable with once it is built and experienced pulling it around in various conditions. But the speeds you want aren't out of the question with an appropriate setup.
DrewsBrews
Donating Member

Postby Shadow Catcher » Mon Feb 08, 2016 9:15 pm

Are in part related to tire speed ratings. ST tires are rated and supposedly tested to 65 MPH. I went with Micheline passenger car tires rated at 85MPH.
The tires were rated for 1600# each.
Shadow Catcher
Donating Member

Postby elcam84 » Mon Feb 08, 2016 9:51 pm