O.K., I'm Stumped, Wiring problem.

Anything electric, AC or DC

O.K., I'm Stumped, Wiring problem.

Postby Micro469 » Sat Sep 23, 2006 8:20 pm

I'm trying to hook up my lights, and can't figure out the switches. Maybe I got the wrong ones. Anyway, let me tell you what i have so far, and maybe someone can help. Two sets of switches, at each door. Main power coming down one side, split off to connect a 1 switch for porch light and 1 switch for a cabin light, swung over to the other side, split again for porch light switch and cabin light switch. Porch lights work fine. Added a pos. to each cabin switch, one going directly to light, the other going to reading lamps.split off reading lamps to go to cabin light. So now I have 2pos going to cabin light so both switches will operate, but I can't switch them on/off independantly. I one switch is on the light stays on , and only goes out when both switches are off, I.E. killing both power lines. I'm trying to make it so I can switch the light on and off from both sides with the least amount of wire, heck, I, trying to make it switch on and off using both switches!! This has got me so confused I just want to bang my head against the wall. Can anyone show me the proper way to do this?
I'm want the cabin light, the reading lights and the porch lights on the same circuit. Doable? Or should I split them into separate circuits? :cry:
John
Image
User avatar
Micro469
Super Lifetime Member
 
Posts: 3185
Images: 382
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:46 pm
Location: Brampton,Ontario,Canada

Postby madjack » Sat Sep 23, 2006 8:33 pm

John, you have to have a specific 3way switch...you can't doit with a regular switch.............................. 8)
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.
most all personal problems can be solved with the proper application of high explosives
User avatar
madjack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15099
Images: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Central Louisiana

Postby bdosborn » Sat Sep 23, 2006 8:55 pm

John,

Here's a handy animation showing how a 3 way switch works:

http://www.selfhelpandmore.com/switchou ... /index.htm

Bruce
2009 6.5'X11' TTT - Boxcar
Image
Boxcar Build
User avatar
bdosborn
Donating Member
 
Posts: 4175
Images: 450
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: CO, Littleton
Top

Postby Micro469 » Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:13 pm

O.K., what am I looking for....SPDT.......DPDT......SPST.....?????? :oops:
John
Image
User avatar
Micro469
Super Lifetime Member
 
Posts: 3185
Images: 382
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:46 pm
Location: Brampton,Ontario,Canada
Top

Postby Dale M. » Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:20 pm

Single Pole Double Throw. (SPDT)...

http://tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?t=11307

Dale
Lives his life vicariously through his own self.

Any statement made by me are strictly my own opinion.
You are free to ignore anything I say if you do not agree.

Image
User avatar
Dale M.
2000 Club
2000 Club
 
Posts: 2568
Images: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 8:50 pm
Location: Just a tiny bit west of Yosemite National Park
Top

Postby Miriam C. » Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:27 pm

madjack wrote:John, you have to have a specific 3way switch...you can't doit with a regular switch.............................. 8)


:lol: There now, wasn't that easy. ;) This was intended as a joke, it is not easy nor simple.

Great animation Bruce. John remember to pay attention to the 3 wire plus bare to wire it. Can't run 14/2.

Edit: The site Bruce posted might be a good read for all who plan to do this.
Last edited by Miriam C. on Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
“Forgiveness means giving up all hope for a better past.â€
User avatar
Miriam C.
our Aunti M
 
Posts: 19673
Images: 149
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Southwest MO
Top

Postby bdosborn » Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:35 pm

John,

Here's an explanation of the 3 way circuit. Its about half way down the page...
http://www.1728.com/project2.htm
Bruce
2009 6.5'X11' TTT - Boxcar
Image
Boxcar Build
User avatar
bdosborn
Donating Member
 
Posts: 4175
Images: 450
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: CO, Littleton
Top

Postby Micro469 » Sat Sep 23, 2006 10:12 pm

Dale M. wrote:Single Pole Double Throw. (SPDT)...

http://tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?t=11307

Dale


Doh... If I read my own threads properly I'd have figured it out by now... I just wanted 4 switches to look the same.. I gues thats not going to happen.........
John
Image
User avatar
Micro469
Super Lifetime Member
 
Posts: 3185
Images: 382
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:46 pm
Location: Brampton,Ontario,Canada
Top

Postby Dale M. » Sun Sep 24, 2006 12:59 pm

Micro469 wrote:
Dale M. wrote:Single Pole Double Throw. (SPDT)...

http://tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?t=11307

Dale


Doh... If I read my own threads properly I'd have figured it out by now... I just wanted 4 switches to look the same.. I gues thats not going to happen.........


Why not....Find a SPDT swith you like looks of and just use it for all applications... A SPDT switch acts as a SPST (Single Pole Single Throw) if you only use the common connector and one of the output connector (two wire circuit instead of three) leaving second output connector un-connected...

Places like Waytek and DelCity (commercial wire and hardware suppliers) have matching switch styles in many different (beauty) configurations...

http://www.waytekwire.com
http://www.delcity.net

Also check out RV or Marine suppliers...

Dale
Lives his life vicariously through his own self.

Any statement made by me are strictly my own opinion.
You are free to ignore anything I say if you do not agree.

Image
User avatar
Dale M.
2000 Club
2000 Club
 
Posts: 2568
Images: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 8:50 pm
Location: Just a tiny bit west of Yosemite National Park
Top

Postby asianflava » Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:53 pm

I also had a hard time finding matching switches. I ended up buying some from www.partsexpress.com. I got the heavy duty switches which have screw terminals on the back instead of spade lugs. The ones I got didn't match but they look close enough.
User avatar
asianflava
8000 Club
8000 Club
 
Posts: 8410
Images: 45
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 5:11 am
Location: CO, Longmont
Top

Postby Dee Bee » Sun Sep 24, 2006 9:01 pm

Word to the wise....

Make sure the switch is rated for the amp load of the light

Dee Bee
Grace happens...
User avatar
Dee Bee
500 Club
 
Posts: 696
Images: 55
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 9:17 pm
Location: York, PA
Top


Return to Electrical Secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bsekisser and 0 guests