My Power Control Center

Anything electric, AC or DC

My Power Control Center

Postby TonyCooper » Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:18 am

OK, Before I finalize my design what am I missing? Maybe an inverter On/Off switch in the 120VAC section?

Image
Tony

My Tear Build Site

"No comment"
User avatar
TonyCooper
Official Pot Stirrer
 
Posts: 446
Images: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:51 pm

Re: My Power Control Center

Postby bdosborn » Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:30 pm

TonyCooper wrote:OK, Before I finalize my design what am I missing? Maybe an inverter On/Off switch in the 120VAC section?


Yes. The inverter takes a fair amount of juice just to sitting there doing nothing.
Bruce
2009 6.5'X11' TTT - Boxcar
Image
Boxcar Build
User avatar
bdosborn
Donating Member
 
Posts: 4181
Images: 450
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: CO, Littleton

Postby TonyCooper » Sun Mar 27, 2005 12:27 am

Okie Dokie...
Here is the completed panel. What do you think?

Image
Tony

My Tear Build Site

"No comment"
User avatar
TonyCooper
Official Pot Stirrer
 
Posts: 446
Images: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:51 pm
Top

Postby bdosborn » Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:20 am

TonyCooper wrote:Okie Dokie...
Here is the completed panel. What do you think?



I think it looks *great*. The power strip circuit breaker is a great idea. I wish I'd thought of it. :applause:
Bruce
Last edited by bdosborn on Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2009 6.5'X11' TTT - Boxcar
Image
Boxcar Build
User avatar
bdosborn
Donating Member
 
Posts: 4181
Images: 450
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: CO, Littleton
Top

Postby BrianB » Sun Mar 27, 2005 10:26 am

That's very clean, nice work! Make a few more and sell them. I'm sure there are a bunch of people who'd like one that looks that nice
User avatar
BrianB
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:23 am
Location: Casina, Italy
Top

Postby TonyCooper » Sun Mar 27, 2005 10:48 am

bdosborn wrote:
TonyCooper wrote:Okie Dokie...
Here is the completed panel. What do you think?



I think you it looks *great*. The power strip circuit breaker is a great idea. I wish I'd thought of it. :applause:
Bruce


Thanks, I wish I could have found a 12VDC version of it. I looked everywhere and but finally settled on the glass fuse.
Tony

My Tear Build Site

"No comment"
User avatar
TonyCooper
Official Pot Stirrer
 
Posts: 446
Images: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:51 pm
Top

Postby toypusher » Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:49 am

User avatar
toypusher
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42850
Images: 324
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 12:21 pm
Location: York, PA Area
Top

Postby Steve Frederick » Sun Mar 27, 2005 10:03 pm

BrianB wrote:That's very clean, nice work! Make a few more and sell them. I'm sure there are a bunch of people who'd like one that looks that nice

Can I place an order??? :D
Blessings, Steve
Adirondacks, Upstate New York
Building Journals
The Shop Manual's 8-years old!! Thank's everyone!
New! 'Rondack Lodge Plans!Order Here!
Image
User avatar
Steve Frederick
Custom Teardrop Builder
 
Posts: 1979
Images: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Upstate New York, Adirondacks (Great Sacandaga Lake)
Top

Postby Guest » Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:52 pm

Tony,
That is really uptown!!!
I take it that you printed that on your computer, then laminated it somehow, eh?
I'm standing in line, right behind Steve... :D
Guest
 
Top

Postby TonyCooper » Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:52 pm

First thanks for the kind comments...

Hmmm,

Let me look at the possibilities. I am out of the extrusion I used, but I could easily have boxes fabricated, powder coated, and then have them silk screen printed.

They would be professional quality but the cost of the box alone would be $15-$20. Then you'd add in the switches and circuit breakers... probably another $10-$20 in bulk.

I would need to make a minimum batch of probably 100 to get the box prices reasonable.

So we are looking at a build cost of about $25 - $40.

Let me look around and see if I can find another section of extrusion that would work. That may cut the price of the box by half for parts but increase labor. I'd have to cut and drill and powder coat.... Hmmm...

I've had unique miata parts manufactured in the past so I've been down this road before ... Took me 2 years to sell those 100 miata parts. And a year to break even.


So I would have an outlay of $2.5K-$4K...

What could I sell them for?

Could I even sell 100 of them?
Last edited by TonyCooper on Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tony

My Tear Build Site

"No comment"
User avatar
TonyCooper
Official Pot Stirrer
 
Posts: 446
Images: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:51 pm
Top

Postby TonyCooper » Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:02 pm

Dean in Eureka, CA wrote:Tony,
That is really uptown!!!
I take it that you printed that on your computer, then laminated it somehow, eh?
I'm standing in line, right behind Steve... :D


Thanks,

I used an old piece of aluminum extrusion that I had laying around.

I designed the panel in Visio, printed it out on my epson color printer, then hot laminated it. I used a Gordon brand 9" laminator (item 92499) I purchased from Harbor Freight for $19 last week when it was on sale. I then cut the finished panel to size and used a hand mechanical punch to put the holes in the aluminum and printed panel.

Picked up the switches at Lowes, the 120vac 15a circuit breaker came out of an old power strip I had. 12vdc fuse holder from Radio Shack.

Total cost is well under $20 not including the laminator. We wanted it for other projects.
Tony

My Tear Build Site

"No comment"
User avatar
TonyCooper
Official Pot Stirrer
 
Posts: 446
Images: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:51 pm
Top

Tony "power supply"?

Postby Guy » Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:32 pm

Tony,

What are you using for your "power supply" on the 12volt side of your panel?

Are you also using a charger for your battery?
Regards,

Guy
Keep on living, laughing, learning and loving.
Image
User avatar
Guy
1000 Club
1000 Club
 
Posts: 1521
Images: 44
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 5:53 pm
Top

Re: Tony "power supply"?

Postby TonyCooper » Thu Mar 31, 2005 1:20 am

Guy wrote:Tony,

What are you using for your "power supply" on the 12volt side of your panel?

Are you also using a charger for your battery?


I modified an ATX PC Power supply ... It will output 14amps at 12volts. More then enough for my lights and radio.

Yes I will be automatically charging the battery everytime the teardrop is on shorepower. I invested in a type 31 yellow top Optima battery and I want to get the full useful life out of it so I figured go get a top of the line charger.

I picked up this automatic charger unit from BatteryMart. It's a waterproof, 4 stage intelligent charger and it is reasonably priced from these guys. I've seen it priced twice as much as they sell it for. It's also packaged quite small. Perfect for a teardrop.

Image
Details Here
Tony

My Tear Build Site

"No comment"
User avatar
TonyCooper
Official Pot Stirrer
 
Posts: 446
Images: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:51 pm
Top

Re: Tony "power supply"?

Postby Nitetimes » Thu Mar 31, 2005 2:04 am

TonyCooper wrote:
Guy wrote:Tony,

What are you using for your "power supply" on the 12volt side of your panel?

Are you also using a charger for your battery?


I modified an ATX PC Power supply ... It will output 14amps at 12volts. More then enough for my lights and radio.



I've heard this mentioned before, can I ask just what kind of modifications you made to it? Major re-write or something simple?I have a bunch of them laying around that I might as well put to good use. Thanks
Rich


Image
ImageImage
-
The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to
keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves
against tyranny in government.
- Thomas Jefferson -
Personally, I carry a gun because I'm too young to die and too old to take a butt kickin'.
User avatar
Nitetimes
7000 Club
7000 Club
 
Posts: 7909
Images: 194
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:44 am
Location: Butler,PA
Top

Postby TonyCooper » Thu Mar 31, 2005 9:59 am

This thread gives a very good overview of whats required.
http://tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?t=1713

It's an inexpensive and simple modfication. In fact if you have an old AT style PS you really can simply hook it up. The ATX style is intelligent enough not to power on without a load on the 5v line. 2 resistors in parallel is ample load.

Note that like everything else, not all PC Power Supplies are created equal. Check the 12V output listing on the PC Supply label and use the one with the most output (even if it is a smaller total wattage PS). Also be aware that sometimes the labels are overly optimistic (they lie!). I used a power supply that was designed to support AMD processors (400 watts total). Those chips are power hungry!

Here's a link to a general overview of power supply characteristics:
http://www.pcguide.com/ref/power/sup/output_Power.htm

BTW, Took about 30 minutes to complete.

Image
Last edited by TonyCooper on Fri Apr 01, 2005 12:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Tony

My Tear Build Site

"No comment"
User avatar
TonyCooper
Official Pot Stirrer
 
Posts: 446
Images: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:51 pm
Top

Next

Return to Electrical Secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest