Wire Guagefor DC Mains?

Anything electric, AC or DC

Wire Guagefor DC Mains?

Postby Dee Bee » Tue Apr 19, 2005 8:15 pm

Ok I know that each circuit should be wired to match or exceed the max. amps on that circuit. Also that the main wires connnecting to the battery should be able to carry the load if every circuit is turned on....

But can you tell me what gague wire you are using for your battery cables or main line and load wires AND what loads in amps you expect to cary on this?

Thanks ahead of time for the reply...

DEE
Grace happens...
User avatar
Dee Bee
500 Club
 
Posts: 696
Images: 55
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 9:17 pm
Location: York, PA

Postby mikeschn » Tue Apr 19, 2005 8:20 pm

Big honkin house wires... at least 6 gage...

Okay, so I got carried away... On my teardrops I use some fairly heavy stuff I find at the auto parts store... I think its 8 or 10 gage... the rest of the teardrop uses 14 gage sound and security wire...

But I'll tell you... I temporarily used some really thin stuff from the power supply to the fuse block in one of my teardrops... and I did not even melt the insulation off of it... but I wouldn't recommend that... ask Alan to tell you about his story sometime...

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
User avatar
mikeschn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19128
Images: 468
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:01 am
Location: MI

Postby Geron » Tue Apr 19, 2005 8:24 pm

I used 10 gauge. Only about 8 foot span from battery to fuse block. 8 gauge is not overkill at all.

JMHO.

Geron
If it's not broken, you're not trying hard enough.
User avatar
Geron
1000 Club
1000 Club
 
Posts: 1522
Images: 173
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 6:23 am
Location: Georgia, Cherrylog
Top

Postby Larwyn » Tue Apr 19, 2005 8:40 pm

Geron wrote:I used 10 gauge. Only about 8 foot span from battery to fuse block. 8 gauge is not overkill at all.

JMHO.

Geron


I'll be using 6 guage, but only because I already have it on hand. I'm sure 10 guage woudl handle all the loand most are likely to put on the dc, with the possiable exception of those using large inverters and multiple battries.
Larwyn

Keeper of the Most Out Of Control Shop (2005)

I feel bad for the man that cannot spell a word more than one way. Mark Twain
User avatar
Larwyn
Mad Kilted Texan
 
Posts: 1658
Images: 210
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Top

Postby McTeardrops » Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:42 pm

What kind of connectors do you use for the heavier guage wires?
Lenny

McTeardrops@valornet.com
I've reached the stage, in life, where my foam has more memory than I do!
User avatar
McTeardrops
The 300 Club
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 12:08 pm
Location: Texarkana Texas
Top

Postby asianflava » Sun May 01, 2005 1:59 am

I'm using 8ga because the fuse holder I'm using for my main fuse has adapters for 8ga
Image
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=070-660

These are the fittings that I'm using, they have a compression nut so you don't have to crimp or solder them.
Image
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=263-124
User avatar
asianflava
8000 Club
8000 Club
 
Posts: 8410
Images: 45
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 5:11 am
Location: CO, Longmont
Top

Great Pic

Postby Dee Bee » Sun May 01, 2005 6:41 am

asianflava wrote:I'm using 8ga because the fuse holder I'm using for my main fuse has adapters for 8ga
Image
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=070-660

These are the fittings that I'm using, they have a compression nut so you don't have to crimp or solder them.
Image
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=263-124


Great Pics

Thanks

DEE
Grace happens...
User avatar
Dee Bee
500 Club
 
Posts: 696
Images: 55
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 9:17 pm
Location: York, PA
Top

Postby Arne » Sun May 01, 2005 7:04 am

I used 12/3 house wire, which I don't recommend. I had no idea how much current some things draw. Mine is fine for what I'm doing, but anything more than a couple hundred watts would need heavier wire......

I don't plan on microwaving or toaster, but I'm still impressed when using 12v how heavy the wire has to be......
www.freewebs.com/aero-1
---
.
I hope I never get too old to play (Arne, Sept 11, 2010)
.
User avatar
Arne
Mr. Subject Line
 
Posts: 5383
Images: 96
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 12:25 pm
Location: Middletown, CT
Top


Return to Electrical Secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests