Dogs and Tears

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

Dogs and Tears

Postby Rvankeur » Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:00 am

Hi all, newbie here with a logistics question...
Who camps with their dogs, and for the bigger doggies - where do they sleep?

We've got a 70 pound German Shepherd and are in the 'planning/dreaming/scheming' phase of teardropping. Looking into designs and whether we've got the time and space to build one.

So - any tips?

Thanks,
Rose
Rose and Ed
Rvankeur
Teardrop Master

Postby FireLion » Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:52 am

hikerchick, you readin this?
'How can ya get away from it all if ya take it all with ya?'
2004 Ford Escape Ltd.
2012 Coleman tent-no wheels, no A/C, no hitch
FireLion
500 Club

Postby hiker chick » Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:53 am

Two peops and a 70-pound German Shepherd would be cramped inside a teardrop. My 48-pound Samoyed and I are plenty comfy in a 6'wide. But my teardrop doesn't have cabinets.

You also need to be mindful of your pup's ability to get in and out of the teardrop. Coincidentally, this past week we were camped next to two elderly German Shepherds, both of them suffering severe hip problems.

My Honda Element would be plenty roomy for Gidget and I'd feel she was safe in it by herself where we camp (where the black bears don't have a history of breaking into vehicles), but she'd bark if left alone all night.

Is your tow vehicle a pickup or SUV?

Perhaps the best option would be an attaching side tent that you could crate your pup in or secure them via a leash to the teardrop (leaving the door open on the teardrop so you have constant access to your pup and vice versa).

Last edited by hiker chick on Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:07 am, edited 7 times in total.
Hot Stuff Today, Dog Stuff Tomorrow

www.thegidg.com
hiker chick
1000 Club
1000 Club

Postby FireLion » Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:54 am

yeah, I shoulda known. :lol:
'How can ya get away from it all if ya take it all with ya?'
2004 Ford Escape Ltd.