I need some help!

Anything electric, AC or DC

I need some help!

Postby catrinka » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:32 pm

I started running 14 ga. wire today for my lights. I am just going to have lights in the trailer, no a/c or other extras. I am going to use the power box from Canadian Tire that I posted about awhile ago. I know that I need a fuse panel of some sort. What do I go shopping for? And what do I use between the fuse panel and the power box? Someone please give me some simple step-by-step instructions.
User avatar
catrinka
500 Club
 
Posts: 612
Images: 43
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:35 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Postby Steve Frederick » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:42 pm

12-volt or 120-volt??
Blessings, Steve
Adirondacks, Upstate New York
Building Journals
The Shop Manual's 8-years old!! Thank's everyone!
New! 'Rondack Lodge Plans!Order Here!
Image
User avatar
Steve Frederick
Custom Teardrop Builder
 
Posts: 1979
Images: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Upstate New York, Adirondacks (Great Sacandaga Lake)

Postby catrinka » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:54 pm

The lights that I picked up are the usual rv lights. The power box has both 12 volt and 120 volt plug-ins so what ever is the easiest.
User avatar
catrinka
500 Club
 
Posts: 612
Images: 43
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:35 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Top

Postby Steve Frederick » Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:38 pm

Image
I like this panel from
Waytek
It will work well for 12, 12-volt circuits. As for 120-volt power, I don't bother, as we seldom go camping with full hook-ups. I could do it, I'm a journeyman electrician. Just can't see the need, for us. If I did go where I knew there was electricity, I'd just bring a GFCI extension cord, and plug into that.
Blessings, Steve
Adirondacks, Upstate New York
Building Journals
The Shop Manual's 8-years old!! Thank's everyone!
New! 'Rondack Lodge Plans!Order Here!
Image
User avatar
Steve Frederick
Custom Teardrop Builder
 
Posts: 1979
Images: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Upstate New York, Adirondacks (Great Sacandaga Lake)
Top

Postby bdosborn » Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:52 pm

I used the same fuse box that Steve did. Use 15Amp fuses for the #14 wire. Use a #10 wire from the battery to the fuse box with a 30A fuse at the battery.
Bruce
2009 6.5'X11' TTT - Boxcar
Image
Boxcar Build
User avatar
bdosborn
Donating Member
 
Posts: 4260
Images: 451
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: CO, Littleton
Top

Postby madjack » Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:14 pm

...I also used the same fuse block...I highly reccommend getting a catalogue from Waytek and also one from Dell City, both have lots of electrical stuff at reasonable prices
madjack
...I have come to believe that, conflict resolution, through violence, is never acceptable.....................mj
User avatar
madjack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15130
Images: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Central Louisiana
Top


Return to Electrical Secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kiacker and 1 guest