I need some help!

Anything electric, AC or DC

I need some help!

Postby catrinka » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:32 pm

I started running 14 ga. wire today for my lights. I am just going to have lights in the trailer, no a/c or other extras. I am going to use the power box from Canadian Tire that I posted about awhile ago. I know that I need a fuse panel of some sort. What do I go shopping for? And what do I use between the fuse panel and the power box? Someone please give me some simple step-by-step instructions.
User avatar
catrinka
500 Club
 
Posts: 612
Images: 43
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:35 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Postby Steve Frederick » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:42 pm

12-volt or 120-volt??
Blessings, Steve
Adirondacks, Upstate New York
Building Journals
The Shop Manual's 8-years old!! Thank's everyone!
New! 'Rondack Lodge Plans!Order Here!
Image
User avatar
Steve Frederick
Custom Teardrop Builder
 
Posts: 1979
Images: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Upstate New York, Adirondacks (Great Sacandaga Lake)

Postby catrinka » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:54 pm

The lights that I picked up are the usual rv lights. The power box has both 12 volt and 120 volt plug-ins so what ever is the easiest.
User avatar
catrinka
500 Club
 
Posts: 612
Images: 43
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:35 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Top

Postby Steve Frederick » Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:38 pm

Image
I like this panel from
Waytek
It will work well for 12, 12-volt circuits. As for 120-volt power, I don't bother, as we seldom go camping with full hook-ups. I could do it, I'm a journeyman electrician. Just can't see the need, for us. If I did go where I knew there was electricity, I'd just bring a GFCI extension cord, and plug into that.
Blessings, Steve
Adirondacks, Upstate New York
Building Journals
The Shop Manual's 8-years old!! Thank's everyone!
New! 'Rondack Lodge Plans!Order Here!
Image
User avatar
Steve Frederick
Custom Teardrop Builder
 
Posts: 1979
Images: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Upstate New York, Adirondacks (Great Sacandaga Lake)
Top

Postby bdosborn » Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:52 pm

I used the same fuse box that Steve did. Use 15Amp fuses for the #14 wire. Use a #10 wire from the battery to the fuse box with a 30A fuse at the battery.
Bruce
2009 6.5'X11' TTT - Boxcar
Image
Boxcar Build
User avatar
bdosborn
Donating Member
 
Posts: 4230
Images: 450
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: CO, Littleton
Top

Postby madjack » Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:14 pm

...I also used the same fuse block...I highly reccommend getting a catalogue from Waytek and also one from Dell City, both have lots of electrical stuff at reasonable prices
madjack
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.
most all personal problems can be solved with the proper application of high explosives
User avatar
madjack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15125
Images: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Central Louisiana
Top


Return to Electrical Secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests