Color coded or not?

Anything electric, AC or DC

Color coded or not?

Postby Seattle G60 » Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:09 am

So I am getting ready to put a bit of electrical in my tear this weekend.
I have all the parts mounted and just need to connect them to the fuse block.

Do you guys recomend using color coded wire, or have you just gone with one spool?
Seems like it might be a bit harder to keep track of if it is one color, but much less expensive.

Thoughts?
User avatar
Seattle G60
Teardrop Builder
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:57 pm

My 2 cents

Postby february1966 » Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:30 am

I used two colors red & black, and labeled everything at the fuse block.

my trick -- transparent tape folded in half around the wire with the label (bit-o-paper) sandwiched in between.
5 kids & dog!! Teardrop or padded cell?
february1966
Teardrop Builder
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 1:42 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Woody » Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:10 am

I tag all my runs with tape and wrote on it what circuit it was on both AC and DC circuits at the fuse boxes
Woody
The Tear Jerker's, Florida Chapter Director
E-mail: tearjerkerfla@bellsouth.net
Tear jerker chapter site http://www.tearjerkers.net/forums/
Check the SE section for gathering information
Tear Jerkers new site http://www.tearjerkers.net/forums/
Enjoying life in 12 ounce increments is what it's about
User avatar
Woody
2000 Club
2000 Club
 
Posts: 2006
Images: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Top

Postby An Ol Timer » Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:13 am

I usually use a sheet of the smallest return address labels that I can find and use them for marking wires. Cost usually about 50 cents per 50 labels.
An Ol Timer
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:08 pm
Top

Postby JeffKimble » Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:35 am

I've wired cars and boats and houses..

Cars and boats, the wiring is commonly traced as accessories are added, and I always use color coded wire.

Houses? Well, I haven't found a good supply of color coded romex, but I do spray the inside of each junction box with a separate color of paint to represent different circuits.. Who knew that the computer, microwave and refrigerator would be on the same circuit?( I have a 70 yr old house now )


Basically, if you are going to wire it, and never touch it again, I wouldn't bother with color coding.. Trailers are not that complex in their wiring.. You might have 2 circuits in there.

Good luck!
JeffKimble
Teardrop Inspector
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:44 am
Location: Alameda, CA
Top

Postby Seattle G60 » Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:07 pm

OK,
So it sounds like most people jsut use one color.
My system is pretty small (six circuts all DC).

Next question is regarding the gauge wire.

Would I be safe to run just one gauge?
I was going to just run the whole thing in 12-14 gauge.

Thoughts?
User avatar
Seattle G60
Teardrop Builder
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:57 pm
Top

Postby madjack » Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:14 pm

...you should be able to run everything except your mains in 12/14 ga wire(I am using 14) your mains should be at least 8/10 ga(I am using 8 ). If you run a common ground it should also be 8/10 ga
madjack 8)

p.s. if you are going to use an inverter, the circuit it is on should also be 8/10ga depending on size of inverter
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.
most all personal problems can be solved with the proper application of high explosives
User avatar
madjack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15107
Images: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Central Louisiana
Top

Postby Seattle G60 » Fri Jul 15, 2005 3:24 pm

Sounds good....I'll let you know how it turns out.
;)
User avatar
Seattle G60
Teardrop Builder
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:57 pm
Top

Postby asianflava » Fri Jul 15, 2005 4:55 pm

On the AC side, I'm using chopped up 3 conductor extension cord 14ga. The wires are color coded inside.

On the DC side I'm using 2 conductor red/black 14ga or 16ga depending on load. The main connection between the inverter and battery is 4ga, the connection from the battery to power distribution block is 8ga.
User avatar
asianflava
8000 Club
8000 Club
 
Posts: 8410
Images: 45
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 5:11 am
Location: CO, Longmont
Top


Return to Electrical Secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests