Fantastic Fan Question

Anything electric, AC or DC

Fantastic Fan Question

Postby s4son » Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:29 pm

I am framing in a spot for my Fantastic Fan. I want to run the wiring and add the fan later. What is the correct size wire to use for the fan? I'll warn everyone ahead of time. I don't know much about wood working and I know even less about electrical, so you can expect a lot of questions!

Scott F.
Are we there yet?
ImageImage
User avatar
s4son
Donating Member
 
Posts: 1399
Images: 180
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:29 am
Location: Smithville, MO

Postby PaulC » Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:49 pm

Not to say this is correct and assuming that the fan runs off of 12v, I used automotive 4mm( :? ) You can do the conversion, too hard for me.
Cheers
Paul
P.S. Multistrand not single
Time is the only real capital we have. Money you can replace but time you cannot.
User avatar
PaulC
3rd Teardrop Club
 
Posts: 4395
Images: 36
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Laura, Souther Flinders Ranges, South Australia

Postby Nitetimes » Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:57 pm

14ga will work just fine.
Rich


Image
ImageImage
-
The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to
keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves
against tyranny in government.
- Thomas Jefferson -
Personally, I carry a gun because I'm too young to die and too old to take a butt kickin'.
User avatar
Nitetimes
7000 Club
7000 Club
 
Posts: 7909
Images: 194
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:44 am
Location: Butler,PA
Top

Postby madjack » Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:10 am

...frame a hole 14.25x14.25"s and use 14ga wire.......................................................... 8)
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.
most all personal problems can be solved with the proper application of high explosives
User avatar
madjack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15110
Images: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Central Louisiana
Top

Postby bledsoe3 » Thu Jan 19, 2006 2:09 am

Make sure to add extra framing around the opening so the base has something to bite into when you screw it down. This has been mentioned a lot in other threads.
If you do what you've always done, you'll get what you've always got.
User avatar
bledsoe3
3000 Club
3000 Club
 
Posts: 3694
Images: 112
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Oregon, Portland
Top

Postby GeorgeTelford » Thu Jan 19, 2006 4:22 am

Hi

14 Gauge may be OK, its always best to look at the Ampage required and distance, ultimately these are the 2 factors which decide the correct gauge.

On the subject of Stranded or solid core cable, why this myth appeared that solid was no good or that it would crack and break down, I can never quite figure out. Stranded cable is called flexible and should be use where the cable will be subject to movement ie like a clothes iron, hairdryer etc etc. Wire buried in a wall is not subject to this kind of movement. Then we hear are but it is subject to vibration which doesnt happen in domestic or industrial applications, but check out the wiring to some large industrial machinery, its solid and subject to more and consistant vibration, I have seen a few RV applications where solid has been in service for years with no problems at all.

Having said all that, stranded is easier to work with and will not cause you any problems either.
User avatar
GeorgeTelford
500 Club
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:10 pm
Top

Postby s4son » Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:00 pm

Does the wire come in from the front, back or right/left?

Scott F.
Are we there yet?
ImageImage
User avatar
s4son
Donating Member
 
Posts: 1399
Images: 180
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:29 am
Location: Smithville, MO
Top

Postby toypusher » Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:19 pm

To have mine open from the back, when installed the wiring came in on the right as looked at from the front of the teardrop.
User avatar
toypusher
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42906
Images: 324
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 12:21 pm
Location: York, PA Area
Top

Postby asianflava » Fri Jan 20, 2006 3:54 pm

The wire exits the unit on the side. I modded mine so that it exits from the rear.
User avatar
asianflava
8000 Club
8000 Club
 
Posts: 8410
Images: 45
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 5:11 am
Location: CO, Longmont
Top

Postby cracker39 » Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:54 pm

Regarding stranded vs. solid wire, I only see a problem with working with the wire...that is, flexibility in tight places. Ira said the working with solid was a real headache. So, I may go with stranded. My local HD doesn't have the bulk stranded that I want, but I can buy a 50' 12 ga. extension cord, remove the socket and plug, and cut it to the three lengths I need to reach my outlets. A 50' 12/3 cord is $23 at HD, just a little more than 50' of solid 12/2 w/ground.
Dale

Sometimes I pretend to be normal. But, that gets boring...so I go back to being me.

Squidget Pop Top Build Pages http://www.thesquidget.com/ptbuild/ptbuild.html

Squidget and Pop Top Plans Info and Photos: http://www.TheSquidget.com
User avatar
cracker39
3000 Club
3000 Club
 
Posts: 3069
Images: 233
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Lake Alfred, Florida, USA
Top

Postby Micro469 » Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:35 pm

Everybody has those outdoor"moonlights" right? Whats wrong with using the cable from those, or even some of the light fixtures? You can get some really nice looking ones and you have a coverter if you want to run off shore power. Is this way out of line or is it feasable? :thinking:
John
Image
User avatar
Micro469
Super Lifetime Member
 
Posts: 3185
Images: 382
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:46 pm
Location: Brampton,Ontario,Canada
Top

Postby madjack » Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:41 pm

Micro469 wrote:Everybody has those outdoor"moonlights" right? Whats wrong with using the cable from those, or even some of the light fixtures? You can get some really nice looking ones and you have a coverter if you want to run off shore power. Is this way out of line or is it feasable? :thinking:


?????? HUH ??????................................................ 8)
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.
most all personal problems can be solved with the proper application of high explosives
User avatar
madjack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15110
Images: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Central Louisiana
Top

Postby Micro469 » Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:47 pm

madjack wrote:
Micro469 wrote:Everybody has those outdoor"moonlights" right? Whats wrong with using the cable from those, or even some of the light fixtures? You can get some really nice looking ones and you have a coverter if you want to run off shore power. Is this way out of line or is it feasable? :thinking:


?????? HUH ??????................................................ 8)


Outdoor garden lights? Or don't you have them down there? :lol:
John
Image
User avatar
Micro469
Super Lifetime Member
 
Posts: 3185
Images: 382
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:46 pm
Location: Brampton,Ontario,Canada
Top

Postby madjack » Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:24 am

...OK Micro, I understand now...I guess they could probably be adapted.............................................. 8)
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.
most all personal problems can be solved with the proper application of high explosives
User avatar
madjack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15110
Images: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Central Louisiana
Top

Postby Micro469 » Sat Jan 28, 2006 10:23 pm

John
Image
User avatar
Micro469
Super Lifetime Member
 
Posts: 3185
Images: 382
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:46 pm
Location: Brampton,Ontario,Canada
Top

Next

Return to Electrical Secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests