Wiring and grounding

Anything electric, AC or DC

Wiring and grounding

Postby 240zron » Wed May 31, 2006 11:10 pm

Hi,
I'm starting to wire my weekender and have a question. I have a GFI receptical wired in at the side of the trailer to plug into the shoreline connection. I have a seperate ground running from the ground fault to the trailer frame.

Is that enough of a ground, or should I also run a seperate wire from the trailer frame to a grounding rod?

Thanks,
Take care,
Ron Potts
Member team Genesis USA
240zron
Teardrop Advisor
 
Posts: 55
Images: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:22 pm
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa.

Postby Miriam C. » Wed May 31, 2006 11:45 pm

Ron
Thy this thread.
http://www.tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?t=7881

Ground rods are traditionally 8' long and driven into the ground. Don't think ya need to go that far. 8) If you are using expensive equipment some of the ways to check for ground at the source are listed (I think).

Good luck!
Miriam (trol extrordinair)
“Forgiveness means giving up all hope for a better past.â€
User avatar
Miriam C.
our Aunti M
 
Posts: 19673
Images: 149
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Southwest MO

Postby 240zron » Thu Jun 01, 2006 11:29 pm

Thanks for the link. After thinking about it a bit, I have found I have made a bunch of mistakes already. I used a GFI on the side of the trailer to plug the shore line power into.

If I do it this way, I'm going to need 2 male ends on the main power cord. I don't think that to smart of an idea. (and to think I was a mechanic for 30 years) :oops:

So I think it's time to remove the GFI and start all over. So tomorow it's off to HD and look for a different kind of plug in.
Take care,
Ron Potts
Member team Genesis USA
240zron
Teardrop Advisor
 
Posts: 55
Images: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:22 pm
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa.
Top

Postby Kevin A » Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:24 am

240zron wrote:Thanks for the link. After thinking about it a bit, I have found I have made a bunch of mistakes already. I used a GFI on the side of the trailer to plug the shore line power into.

If I do it this way, I'm going to need 2 male ends on the main power cord. I don't think that to smart of an idea. (and to think I was a mechanic for 30 years) :oops:

So I think it's time to remove the GFI and start all over. So tomorow it's off to HD and look for a different kind of plug in.


Ron,

It sounds like this might be what you're looking for. Charger Inlet
"Follow me, I'm right behind you"

ImageImage
User avatar
Kevin A
The other guy
 
Posts: 3217
Images: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:16 am
Location: California, Eureka
Top

Postby 240zron » Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:31 am

Thanks Kevin,

That's just what I'm looking for. :D Do you know if they make anything like it that will fit into a standard 2 reciptical box? I haven't looked yet But I would love to be able to install it in the box i already have installed.
Take care,
Ron Potts
Member team Genesis USA
240zron
Teardrop Advisor
 
Posts: 55
Images: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:22 pm
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa.
Top

Postby Kevin A » Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:33 am

240zron wrote:Thanks Kevin,

That's just what I'm looking for. :D Do you know if they make anything like it that will fit into a standard 2 reciptical box? I haven't looked yet But I would love to be able to install it in the box i already have installed.
Ya know, I tried several local hardware stores for the household type double receptacle with no luck, someone else on the board pointed me in the direction of Bass Pro Shops and that charger inlet.
"Follow me, I'm right behind you"

ImageImage
User avatar
Kevin A
The other guy
 
Posts: 3217
Images: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:16 am
Location: California, Eureka
Top

Postby Miriam C. » Fri Jun 02, 2006 8:56 am

HI guys,
You can use the charger inlet but you still need to wire to the GFCI. If you take your power cord, from outside and/or (you can wire it directly) to the GFCI then run all of your other outlets or switches downstream from there you should get it.

I think we are trying to use too many pre-wired, plug attached things and it gets like the old Christmas tree light thing.

Try this link if you want to get fancy. Great pictures to help
http://www.nfdc.net/home/cbdb/Teardrop%20Electric.htm

Miriam
“Forgiveness means giving up all hope for a better past.â€
User avatar
Miriam C.
our Aunti M
 
Posts: 19673
Images: 149
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Southwest MO
Top

Postby Kevin A » Fri Jun 02, 2006 9:01 am

Miriam C. wrote:HI guys,
You can use the charger inlet but you still need to wire to the GFCI. If you take your power cord, from outside and/or (you can wire it directly) to the GFCI then run all of your other outlets or switches downstream from there you should get it.

I think we are trying to use too many pre-wired, plug attached things and it gets like the old Christmas tree light thing.

Try this link if you want to get fancy. Great pictures to help
http://www.nfdc.net/home/cbdb/Teardrop%20Electric.htm

Miriam
Good point, Miriam,

I'll be hardwiring GFCI outlets into both the galley & cabin sides of the bulkhead once I get the galley built. Until that happens, I'm using a power strip.
"Follow me, I'm right behind you"

ImageImage
User avatar
Kevin A
The other guy
 
Posts: 3217
Images: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:16 am
Location: California, Eureka
Top

Postby greasywheats » Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:47 pm

Hi all-
anybody have a picture of the backside of that charger inlet? How do you wire it to your converter (i am using a WFCO 25A converter from BestConverter.com)?

Anyone using the WFCO converter have any pictures of how they wired it up (particularly if you also had a charger inlet)? I'm a wiring newbie- so I haven't figured out how the WFCO wiring goes.
Thanks!
User avatar
greasywheats
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 176
Images: 25
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Top

Postby Miriam C. » Fri Jun 02, 2006 8:57 pm

Ok guys here is a finder for Leviton all your hardware stores will have it.

http://www.leviton.com/sections/prodinfo/newprod/npleadin.htm

they have shore power inlets for 120v and will be cheaper than Bass Pro.

This is the way I am going to wire mine. I am not an electrician so take if for what it is worth.

Wire as follows:
if 15 amp use 14g or 12g
black to gold (or brass)
white to silver
green to ground (screw color going to round plug) romex has bare ground.

if 20 amp use 12g wire
if 30 amp use 10g wire

Inlets come rated for amps.

The Zepher has a good picture and diagram of this. The others do as well.

If this doesn't make sense to you don't do it. Hire an electrician. It really isn't worth the problems to do it yourself
and is dangerous.

I don't know how to wire to a converter, sorry.
Miriam
“Forgiveness means giving up all hope for a better past.â€
User avatar
Miriam C.
our Aunti M
 
Posts: 19673
Images: 149
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Southwest MO
Top

Postby Kevin A » Fri Jun 02, 2006 9:09 pm

I tried to search the leviton link, seems they require registration and browser settings that allow pop ups. I'm not comfortable with either of those requirements.
"Follow me, I'm right behind you"

ImageImage
User avatar
Kevin A
The other guy
 
Posts: 3217
Images: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:16 am
Location: California, Eureka
Top

Postby madjack » Fri Jun 02, 2006 9:12 pm

I didn't have to register to search the site but I did haveta allow popups...they promised no popup advertisng will result....
madjack 8)
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.
most all personal problems can be solved with the proper application of high explosives
User avatar
madjack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15122
Images: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Central Louisiana
Top

Postby Miriam C. » Fri Jun 02, 2006 9:21 pm

:lol: Sorry Kevin,
I only went to the first page. It has a picture of the inlets there.
:oops:
Will try to do better.
Miriam
“Forgiveness means giving up all hope for a better past.â€
User avatar
Miriam C.
our Aunti M
 
Posts: 19673
Images: 149
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Southwest MO
Top

Postby Kevin A » Fri Jun 02, 2006 9:36 pm

Miriam C. wrote::lol: Sorry Kevin,
I only went to the first page. It has a picture of the inlets there.
:oops:
Will try to do better.
Miriam


no need to apologize :D , I just prefer to not register to view websites ;)
I wasn't able to locate the pictures of the inlets, could you link directly to them?
"Follow me, I'm right behind you"

ImageImage
User avatar
Kevin A
The other guy
 
Posts: 3217
Images: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:16 am
Location: California, Eureka
Top

Postby madjack » Fri Jun 02, 2006 10:13 pm

...let us see if this works..... http://www.levitonhelpdesk.com/catalog/ ..... 8)
EDIT: apparently they won't allow hot linking and use popup windows to showcase products....
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.
most all personal problems can be solved with the proper application of high explosives
User avatar
madjack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15122
Images: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Central Louisiana
Top

Next

Return to Electrical Secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: johnny_swindle and 1 guest